A spokesperson wrote back: “There are no actual rules or regulations in the U.S. about using an expired date car seat.” The U.S. government isn’t oblivious to the possibility that a child safety seat could degrade over time.
Is it safe to use a carseat after the expiration date?
Expired car seats may not adequately protect riders in the event of a crash. That’s why the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) urges parents to avoid using car seats that are past their use-by dates, or seats without expiration dates that are more than six years from date of manufacture.
Why do they say car seats expire?
In general, car seats expire between 6 and 10 years from the date of manufacture. They expire for a number of reasons, including wear and tear, changing regulations, recalls, and the limits of manufacturer testing.
Is it illegal to use an expired car seat in Texas?
While there is no specific Texas law forbidding this seat placement, state regulations do require you to follow manufacturer’s instructions. Also be aware that safety seats expire after 6 years from the date when they are manufactured.
How long is a Graco car seat good for?
Graco defines “useful life” as 10 years for belt-positioning boosters and for steel-reinforced belt path car seats and 7 years for plastic-reinforced belt path car seats.
Is it illegal to use an expired car seat in Ohio?
As of Oct. 7, 2009, Ohio’s children are required to use belt-positioning booster seats once they outgrow their child safety seats until they are 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) tall.
|Published:||June 07, 2018|
How long are car seats good for Canada?
According to Transport Canada and the manufacturers, child seats and booster seats have a six- to nine-year life.
Is it illegal to have child forward-facing?
Specifically, in NSW, it says children must kept in an approved restraint until they are four years old. “Children aged between 6 months and 4 years must be restrained in an approved rearward or forward-facing restraint.
When can my child face forward 2021?
Rear-facing car seat – for infants up to at least age 1 or 20 pounds; Forward-facing car seat – for children up to age 5 or 40 pounds; Booster seat – for children up to age 6; Vehicle’s seat belt system – for children ages 6 to 15 no matter where they sit in the vehicle.
Does a 10 year old need a booster seat?
All children whose weight or height exceeds the forward-facing limit for their car safety seat should use a belt-positioning booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they have reached 4 feet 9 inches in height and are 8 to 12 years of age.
Do strollers expire?
The good news, especially for those parents who don’t know, is that strollers don’t expire. … Unlike car seats, you won’t find any sticker or information on the stroller indicating its expiry date — it doesn’t have one. For instance, one of the wheels of a stroller may have gone bad, but it will still work for sure.
How long is a Graco My Ride 65 Good For?
6 Year Expiration: The My Ride 65 has a 6 year expiration and the “Do Not Use Past” date is stamped on the bottom/back of the seat. Graco specifies in the manual not to use the seat if it is in a crash.
How long is a Graco SnugRide 30 Good For?
Graco Expiration Dates & Where to Find Expiration Date on Graco Car Seat
|SnugRide® SnugLock™ 30||7 years after the date of manufacture.||Owner’s Manual|
|SnugRide® SnugLock™ 35 Platinum XT Infant Car Seat||7 years after the date of manufacture.||Owner’s Manual|